Roadblocks

Ka’aihue (aka Kahoaloha?)

I woke up today, excited with the knowledge that I’d be able to devote an entire day to research.  I’ve been unable to get past my great grandfather as I haven’t found any records of him online in my recent searches. I was told that his last name was initially Kahoaloha, but have been unable to find anything on that surname as well.  I’ve asked some family members about this but haven’t heard anything back. I’ve resolved to researching the possibility (um…make that probability) of him having siblings and trying to connect the dots that way. I felt a little burned out with the search, so I decided to give it a rest for today.

Wills

I began where I had left off last night, looking for any information on my great grandfather, Thomas Wills. The only things I know about him are his wife’s name, his daughter’s name (my grandmother) and his father’s name.  I looked for census records, death certificates, emigration records, you name it. Nothing. I decided I needed a break and would try to look into other family lines.

Ka’aiohelo

I’ve had some moderate success with researching this surname, which was my grandmother’s maiden name. Fortunately for me, they were Latter-day Saints, so I was able to obtain the names of three generations of ancestors on my mothers maternal line from the Church of LDS.  While researching this particular surname, I discovered that it was not uncommon for many Hawaiians (prior to the 1900’s) to go by only one name. After hours of searching, I hit another wall and decided to move on the next line that I’d neglected for the last couple days.

Keau

My great grandmothers maiden name (Daisy Keau). I got stuck a few days back, but my mom had sent me some scanned documents of records she had tucked away in her closet.  My aunt had tried to make a pedigree chart years ago and some of the information on the chart were names that I didn’t have on mine. Other scans also included some birth and death records, and a couple marriage certificates.  I’ll discuss the documents in a later post. Back to my great grandmother,my aunt who worked on the pedigree chart listed Albert Kapahi as her father.  Through census records, I found that her fathers name was Keala Keau. I verified my findings by confirming that her children were my grandfathers siblings. So, I’m wondering where this name Albert Kapahi came from, and how my aunt knew this information. It is entirely possible that she “just knows”. As I said in my previous post, I didn’t grow up on the islands, and was not exposed to the knowledge one gains from just being and living there. I made a mental note to talk to mom about this in the morning.

After a day of not gaining any progress, I think it’s time to get some rest. I dreamt of a pedigree chart the other night, and everytime I tried to write a name on it, it would rain and the chart would get wet. I think I need to take tomorrow as a mini-break from research and maybe only devote a couple hours to it.  I really wanted to get as much info as possible before my mom comes on Friday, but I think she’ll agree with me needing some rest. Besides, I know she’s already happy with everything I’ve found so far.

Looking forward to some rest tomorrow, but I’m sure I’ll still have something to post about!

Aloha ahiahi ia oukou!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

~ by Leilani on June 14, 2009.

7 Responses to “Roadblocks”

  1. Starting this blog is a great way to track your research and it is exactly the same reason I started mine. Nice work so far; I look forward to reading more of your posts. One of my friends has Hawaiian ancestry and I’m trying to help her with figuring out the branches. :-)

    • I’ve become quickly absorbed….and am a little surprised at how many of “us” there are out there in the blogosphere. :)
      Good luck with your friend’s research….at first I was glad our family names weren’t common; now, I’m not so sure!

  2. There are ever roadblocks and brick walls. Think like Thomas Edison and PERSEVERE. Find other avenues to get around the obstacles. Read, learn and research. And visit my web site now and again.

    Happy Dae·
    http://ShoeStringGenealogy.com

    • THANK YOU for the encouragement! I am on my way to your site right now, and can’t wait to learn, learn, LEARN!

  3. Welcome to the world of GeneaBlogging. You’ve made a terrific start and I look forward to your trials and tribulations.

    -fM

  4. Hi! My husbands great granduncle is Moses “Moke” Kahumoku. He married a woman named Dorothy Ka’aihue. She was born in Kahului, Maui in 1920. She had 4 siblings that I know of. They are Joseph, Lizzie, Helen, and Becky. I believe here parents names are Naehu Ka’aihue and Helen Aho Akiona. I just thought I’d throw it out there and see if you are related to any of these Ka’aihue’s. Good Luck with your research.

    • This is awesome news….I also have a great uncle Moses (Moke) as well, however I was told he was born a Ka’aihue, rather than married into the family (will need to verify this!). But your information is FANTASTIC…mostly every one in the family was named after someone else in the family. I will definitely be delving into this further in the morning. Mahalo for your post, it’s given me an idea of where to start the research tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

